On Talin Ngam beach, Koh Samui – ”Home with God”

So here I am, 14 days into my own magical experience on Koh Pangan and Koh Samui. A very healthy and soothing fortnight it has been; I have been eating veggie food, drinking lots of water, slept much, danced much, laughed much, meditated, exercised, walked barefoot having had a lot of sand between my toes and turned 40… I return in good shape in all aspects, physically, mentally and spiritually – maybe better than ever before?  Tomorrow I will be heading back to Phuket catching that big 747 going back home to Arlanda, Sweden again.

Herman, my childhood friend, left for Sweden very, very early this morning so now I’m back where I started here, it’s just me, my backpack and the beach. I’m staying a few more hours at the Ban Sabai Sunset Resort and Spa here on the southern beaches of Koh Samui. We expected this place to be another charter ghetto, but oh no… This is an extremely quiet and almost deserted place. I, we, have had 3 wonderful days here and it was a wonderful way of ending this trip. I’m currently reading ”At home with God” by Neil Donald Walsch, the last book in the ”Conversation with God series”. A most wonderful book to read, especially at a place like this.
http://www.bansabaisunset.com/gallery-sunset/gallery.html

011.jpg
The Ban Sabai Sunset Resort Spa at Talin Ngam Beach

At the Sanctuary on Koh Pangan we met up with a great gang of Americans, Englishmen, Canadians, Australians, New Zealanders, Germans and other Swedes. That was eight very social and asocial days of both meditative solitude and partying – I have some great memories, wonderful pics with me home and some new friends added on FaceBook. My plan was to have a very lowkey birthday, but my newfound friends and Herman turned the Valentine-party in to a surprise birthday-party at midnight. I was moved as they sang for me and lifted me high, carrying me around on the dancefloor at the Sanctuary. Suddenly I had a whole bunch of alcoholic beverages waiting for me at the table. A detour from my otherwise healthy life, but come on, turning 40 isn’t an everyday experience. THAT was a great party!

Yes it is a wonderful experience turning 40 and I highly recommend it! We left Koh Pangan on the 15th, my birthday, and stayed at the most luxurious and smart resort called Zazen at Bophut in northern Samui. Now that was a cool place, very smart, arty and cool. Everything went the way I wanted it.

I turned 40 at exactly 16.20 local time when I was meditating on the beach gazing at the seahorizon with Pink Floyd’s epic ”Dark side of the moon” in my mp3-walkman. Yes, I really did just that!🙂

”All that is now
All that is gone
All that’s to come
And everything under the sun…”

Don’t say you’re surprised, that is very much my style. AND it was a powerful and moving experience. I then produced my ”Moet et Chandon” champagne which we had on the beach at twilight. And then there was a marvellously delicious 5 courses meal at the renowned Zazen-restaurant which Herman kindly enough had invited me to. During the dinner we had a most interesting ”NLP”-sitting focusing on life and what’s to come. How I want my life to be. Very well timed as I happen to be at a crossroad in life right now. And…

Here I was in for another surprise, all of a sudden, there was a change in the music as they played ”Happy birthday” with Stevie Wonder and a small crowd of thai-waitresses gathered around my table. They sung for me and presented a birthday cake with a candle to blow… Oh, that was sweet, very, very sweet. They really touched my heart singing with their small voices maybe just a little out of key but that only added to the genuinely lovely feeling, they did it with such joy. Wonderful!
http://www.samuizazen.com/photo.php

watermark1.jpg

watermark2.jpg

So here I am now summing up my trip, Tuesday 19th of February 2008, with some 30 more hours in this lovely place, on this wonderful island in this very special country. So, you might ask, as I did myself in an earlier blog. Did I find my paradise again? Is it still here? Or has the islands of Koh Samui and Koh Pangan turned into gigantic charter-ghettos…?

Certainly some places here on these islands have lost all their charm. I think about Haad Rin on Koh Pangan and Chaweng Beach on Koh Samui. Those were places I never stayed at and we only spent a little time in them, but there is for sure a lot of that paradisical feeling left on places like the Haad Yuan, Haad Tien and Haad Whynam beaches on Koh Pangan and this long, white and deserted beach of Talin Ngam on southern Koh Samui. This is paradise. Now and here. I am so thankful for getting the chance of experiencing all this. Now.

My days have been brightened by small symbolical messages along the way. I think especially of that first mornings encounter with the statue of the ”wandering Buddha” that just happened to be straight in front of me, smiling, when I had my first Thai breakfast by the sea on Samui. And I think of that wonderful balloon ceremony that Herman and I suddenly found us parttaking in yesterday evening on the beach as we were invited to a Thai-birthdayparty. We helped some other guests and staff at the Ban Sabai to send some 20 miniature hotair-balloons (a typical Thai-thing) up into the waiting starry sky. You are supposed to make a wish when the balloon goes up. And Herman’s and my balloon truly went straight up to heaven accompanied by an immense gratitude for having the privilege of being right here, right now. It was a magical experience. Nothing by chance…

It seems a most proper thing to be reading ”Home with God” right here, right now. 10 years ago on my first trip to Thailand, specifically on the island of Koh Chang I read the first book in Neil Donald Walsch’s series ”Conversations with God”. ”Cirkeln sluter sig”, as we say in Swedish, the circle is complete. I’ve come full circle. I am now midway in life and the sun is literally shining straight above my head. I am so grateful for this life, this life that is mine. I have gotten more, more in every aspect, then what I ever could dream of as a kid, as a teenager. I have never had such quality of life as now. Life has never been better than now. I’ve felt at home here, I’ve felt at home in Sweden, I feel at home wherever I meet lovely people that I can share this life with. And always, I feel at home with God…

”All souls find peace after death,
not all souls find peace before it…”

I have!

7 svar to “On Talin Ngam beach, Koh Samui – ”Home with God””

  1. Thunderwolf Says:

    Wow, a trip to heaven just to read this stuff! Looking forward to see you at home.

  2. hejhej och välkommen hem!!

  3. great story and great pics. when you said that you did all of that healthy stuff i was thinking, he must be on a different samui or pha ngan than the ones i know, since everyone here is partying if they are not sleeping!

    taling ngam is beautiful, next time you are here try laem set, you get spectacular views over the islands to the south. breathtaking.

    safe travels.

  4. Diaoc360.vn là mạng đăng tin bất động sản phổ biến.
    Hiện nay chúng tôi có một số tiện ích MIỄN PHÍ cho khách hàng và giải
    pháp cho đối tác, quý khách hàng và đối tác có
    nhu cầu xin vui lòng tham khảo thêm qua website: www.
    diaoc360.vn

  5. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your content seem to be running off
    the screen in Safari. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon.
    Kudos

    • Thanks! I’m happy that you like my text! However I can’t do much about the formatting since this blog is a fixed WordPress format. Hope they get the problem fixed soon!

Kommentera

